The Ridgefield Rag for Piano Four-Hands and Orchestra

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
Commissioned by Beatrice Brown, conductor of the Ridgefield (CT) Symphony Orchestra, which world premiered it on September 27, 1986, at the Ridgefield High School, Ridgefield, CT. It was most recently performed by the Ridgefield Symphony Orchestra, Petko Dimitrov conducting, on October 4, 2008, at the Anne Richardson Auditorium, Ridgefield, CT, as part of the town's tricentennial celebration. Townsend dedicated the piece to the town and presented a signed copy of the score to the town's First Selectman during the concert. Townsend was awarded two Meet the Composer grants for his participation in events -- a public lecture and a public radio interview -- surrounding the town's celebration. (This rag has been included in my recent work TWO RAGS AND AN INTERLUDE for piano four-hands and orchestra (15 minutes).)
Version: Piano Four-Hands and Orchestra
Year composed: 1986
Duration: 00:06:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation: 2 Flute, 2 Oboe, 2 Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, 4 Horn in F, 3 Trumpet, 3 Trombone, 1 Tuba, 2 Timpani, 3 Percussion (General), 1 Piano, 1 Strings (General)
Instrumentation notes: Solo pno 4-hands, ragtime. Percussion includes bass drum, snare drum, bongos, wood blocks, triangle.
Rent materials:

Douglas Townsend's profile »