Gallery Set

Daniel J. Perlongo

About this work:
Gallery Set for piano includes eight pieces whose titles I chose from prints of Joan Miró (1893-1983). 1. Wind among Bullrushes 2. Chanteuse Melancolique 3. Singing Fish 4. Rythme du Passage du Serpent 5. L’etoile Bleu 6. Chanteuse Melancolique II 7. Lune Verte 8. Naissance du Jour The Spanish artist Joan Miró was born in Barcelona and moved to Paris in 1920, where, under the influence of surrealist poets and writers, he evolved his mature style. His images often have a whimsical or humorous quality, playfully distorted animal forms, twisted organic shapes, and odd geometric constructions. He uses a limited range of bright colors, especially blue, red, yellow, green, and black. I was attracted to the simple shapes, colors and economy of means he uses in his expression, and felt a strong association with what I had been doing in my First Set, a collection of 27 pieces for piano. I decided to choose an arrangement of pieces from First Set that I could associate with Miró prints - thus was born the musical soundscape Gallery Set.
Year composed: 2005
Duration: 00:11:30
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice
Instrumentation: 1 Piano
Instrumentation notes: Piano solo

Daniel J. Perlongo's profile »