Rhapsody For Two Voices And Small Orchestra

Martin Hennessy

About this work:
This is actually an orchestration of Silent Night/Vocalise for soprano and cello written in 1997. My friend, choreographer, Laura Glenn, urged me to orchestrate this for a dance event with a live orchestra sponsored by the Harvard Ballet Company at the American Repertory Theatre. I decided to strengthen the original vocalise by adding a lower soprano (lyric mezzo) mostly in thirds. 7 performances were given with Laura's inspired choreography November 7-18, 2006 with the American Grace Orchestra.
Version: Vocalise for soprano, mezzo-soprano and orchestra
Year composed: 2006
Duration: 00:04:50
Ensemble type: Voice, Solo or With Chamber or Jazz Ensemble
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Clarinet, 1 Horn in F, 1 Trumpet, 4 Timpani, 1 Percussion (General), 1 Strings (General), 1 Harp, ,1 Soprano soloist(s), ,1 Mezzo-Soprano soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: percussion: triangle, pair of cymbals, suspended cymbal strings: 64442 or 63331 recommended

Martin Hennessy's profile »