Symphony No. 3 ... Portraits In Jazz (2000)

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

Commissioned by the American Jazz Philharmonic and the American Composers Forum.

Program note:

Symphony No. 3 ... Portraits in Jazz is in four movements.

1. Mingus!

2. Focus on Stan Getz.

3. Miles is God!!!

4. Elegy for Duke

5. The Jazz Messenger!!!

Each movement is a re-interpretation or re-invention of each jazz artist's style. The first movement features the wild, driving bass-line of Charles Mingus ... pushing the band toward the apocalypse!!! The middle sections is an abstract "blues" featuring a trombone solo ... à la Jimmy Knepper!!! The second movement is an original tune ... a post-bossa ballad that Stan could've played. The third movement is in the style of late-period Miles. Funkin' all the way to Heaven!!! The fourth movement is for Duke. The tune is a distillation of a single motive from the Duke original, "Fleur Africaine." The last movement is a tribute to the inimitable drumming of Art Blakey.

Year composed: 2000
Duration: 00:21:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra
Instrumentation notes: Big Band and Symphony Orchestra in five movements: Charles Mingus, Stan Getz, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington and Art Blakey.

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »