Dark Angels (1990, rev. 1994) for viola and cello.

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

The title, Dark Angels, has a double meaning. On the one hand, it describes the low, dark, ominous, brooding sound characteristic of the viola and the cello. On the other, these are musical portraits of three charismatic dancers - Nijinsky, Nureyev, and Baryshnikov. Male danseurs in ballet must exhibit an emotional range bordering on schizophrenia. They must be strong and tender, solid and agile, energetic and graceful, raw and gentle. They must fly. But they must land like a feather. Narcissistic to the core. In them, madness is indeed a plus. The titles of the movements are:

I. Lunacy ... Nijinsky

II. Lamentoso ... Nureyev

III. Mad scherzo ... Baryshnikov

Year composed: 1990
Duration: 00:10:00
Ensemble type: Unspecified Instrument(s):Ensemble
Instrumentation: 1 Viola, 1 Cello

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »