Chamber Concerto No. 1 for Violin and Strings (or String Quartet)

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
The string quartet version world premiered in Manhattan at the 92nd Street Young Men and Young Women's Hebrew Association on March 24, 1957, by solo violinist Max Pollikoff (who commissioned it) and a string quartet made up of Walter Trampler, violist, Charles McCracken, cellist, and Isadore Cohen and Murray Schnee, violinists. "Mr. Pollikoff played the Townsend concerto with eloquence and force." "All three compositions [on the program] were works of the deepest sincerity, in which the composers gave utterance to personal feelings of considerable intensity." (NYTimes 3/25/57) Another reviewer found "numerous textural and melodic attractions in its first two movements." (NYHeraldTribune 3/25/57) The version of the work with string orchestra has not yet been performed. Moderately difficult.
Version: string orchestra
Year composed: 1956
Duration: 00:18:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:String Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation: 1 Strings (General), ,1 Violin soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: May substitute a string quartet for string orchestra.
Rent materials:

Douglas Townsend's profile »