Overture Concertante for 10 Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
A single movement work for 10 solo wind instruments and orchestra. World premiered by the Norwalk (CT) Symphony Orchestra, Diane Wittry conducting, on September 29, 2007. "The work is an engaging interplay of references to wind idioms that range from band music through 18th-century harmoniemusik fused within an idiomatic orchestral palette. . . . It is a work packed with inventive developmental writing and colorful, swiftly moving figuration." (Jeffrey Johnson, The Advocate & Greenwich Times, Oct. 7, 2007) Townsend was awarded a Composer Assistance Grant from the American Music Center for this performance.
Year composed: 1992
Duration: 00:10:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Standard Orchestra
Instrumentation: 1 Piccolo, 4 Flute, 2 Oboe, 2 Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, 4 Horn in F, 3 Trumpet, 3 Trombone, 1 Tuba, 2 Timpani, 1 Percussion (General), 1 Strings (General)
Instrumentation notes: Flute 3 doubles piccolo. The solo wind instruments are 4 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, and 2 bassoons. The solo wind instruments play individually and as a group in contrast to the strings and brass. There are also, but fewer, solos for trombones, trumpet and horns, individually, and as a group.
Rent materials: douglasotownsend@yahoo.com

Douglas Townsend's profile »