In Memoriam: Adagio and Andante for Strings (or String Quintet)

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
These two slow movements are from Suite No. 1 for Strings (or String Quintet). Both or either may be played. (If Andante is performed alone, only a string quartet would be required.) Both are lyrical, sustained melodies with colorful everchanging harmonies. However, the Andante is very baroque in style. They both lend themselves to reflection and would be suitable for "in memoriam" occasions. Unperformed in this version. See the performance notes for the string orchestra version of Suite No. 1 for Strings (or String Quintet).
Version: string quintet
Year composed: 1972
Duration: 00:09:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 2-5 players
Instrumentation: 2 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello, 1 Double bass
Instrumentation notes: Can substitute string orchestra for string quintet.
Purchase materials:
Rent materials:

Douglas Townsend's profile »