Two Rags and an Interlude for Piano Four-Hands and Orchestra

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
This composition includes my Ridgefield Rag and my 54th Street Rag, both for piano four-hands and orchestra, as well as my Interlude, which functions as an intermezzo between the two rags. The Interlude is for orchestra without the soloists. Very accessible to the audience for festive occasions and holidays. (See notes under the individual rags in their versions for piano four-hands and orchestra.) This is a new suite with two of the movements (2nd and 3rd) never performed. Minimal difficulty for the orchestra and two pianists.
Version: piano four-hands and orchestra
Year composed: 2010
Duration: 00:15:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation: 1 Piccolo, 2 Flute, 2 Oboe, 2 Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, 2 Alto Saxophone, 1 Tenor Saxophone, 1 Baritone Saxophone, 4 Horn in F, 3 Trumpet, 3 Trombone, 1 Tuba, 2 Timpani, 1 Percussion (General), 1 Piano, 2 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello, 1 Double bass
Instrumentation notes: Needs two pianists to play four hands at one piano. In the trio of the third movement (54th Street Rag), a saxophone quartet is required, replacing the strings in two passages. If saxophones are not available, strings may be used. The saxophone parts are cued in the string parts.
Rent materials:

Douglas Townsend's profile »