Concertino for Piano and Four Diverse Instruments (or String Orchestra)

Douglas Townsend

About this work:
This version of the work was premiered by the ensemble Englewinds at Trinity Church in lower Manhattan on October 23, 2008 (Marcia Hankle, flute; Sarah Davol, oboe; Monte Morgenstern, clarinet; Maureen Strenge, bassoon; and Tomoko Ohno, piano). The work is neoclassical, in three movements entitled Moderato, Andante, Allegretto. It is a miniature piano concerto. The work is very flexible and can use any three treble instruments and one bass instrument, plus piano solo. It has been done at faculty recitals in Maine with two flutes, violin and cello plus piano solo; and with oboe, clarinet, bassoon and violin,plus piano solo. (See also the version for piano and string quartet, and the version for piano and string orchestra.) The work is accessible and melodic.
Version: piano and woodwind quartet
Year composed: 1985
Duration: 00:10:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Oboe, 1 Clarinet, 1 Bassoon, ,1 Piano soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: This work is for piano solo and any three treble instruments and one bass instrument. Can use strings, winds, or mixed strings and winds.
Purchase materials:

Douglas Townsend's profile »