Piano Trio No. 2 ... Shosty-Bach Suite (2012) for violin, cello and piano

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:


Program note:


Piano Trio No. 2 … Shosty-Bach Suite (2012) is in seven movements.   The subtitle gives a hint as to the content of the work. The “suite” is in reference to the Bach Suite for Unaccompanied Cello and the Orchestral Suites.  And Dmitri Shostokovich has been an influence in my music for a long, long time. 


Accordingly the movements are ordered in a similar manner as in the Bach Suites, except for the Courante and the Allemande, which are reversed in my work.


1.    Prelude … Andante!

2.    Courante … Allegro!

3.    Allemande … Allegro ma non troppo!

4.    Arioso … Adagio!

5.    A little Polka … Allegro!

6.    Sarabande … Largo!

7.    NAG (not a gigue) … Presto agitato!


I think the first movement is quite reminiscent of Shostakovich’s music - the octave doubling, for example.  A Bachian drive in triple meter is the dominant feature in the second movement, but the feisty melody in the strings is very Shosty.  Bach again prevails in the third movement, especially in the cello part.  The fourth movement is typical TOL music, reminiscent of the languid and sorrowful moods from Latin America!  The fifth movement is a “polka” … or maybe I should say it’s a martial polka of sorts.  The Sarabande movement is another TOL constant: slow, haunting, mesmerizing music!   The last movement in a Bach suite is usually a gigue.  But I decided to do a NAG; i.e., “not a gigue.”  It’s a romp, nonetheless, but in duple meter. 



Year composed: 2012
Duration: 00:20:00
Ensemble type: Unknown:unknown 1
Instrumentation: 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Cello

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »