Grand Duo, opus 151 (2012) for violin and piano

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:


Program note:


This is the third duo for violin and piano in my portfolio.  The first one was written back when I was a student at the New England Conservatory of Music.  It was my opus 3, “The Sensuous Gargoyle” (1975).  My next one was a four-movement work entitled “Tunesmith … An American Beauty Pageant” (1993).   It was commissioned by the Music Department at Lehigh University and premiered by two of its faculty members, Paul Chou and Paul Salerni.


The violin has always been my favorite instrument.  I have written twelve string quartets.  For the violinist extraordinaire Irina Muresanu I wrote a big violin concerto in 2009, and a Partita for solo violin in 2011.  I am slated to write another concerto, albeit a chamber one, for the Boston Classical Orchestra and violinist Sharon Roffman for a premiere in the fall of 2013. 


Last year I decided to write a third duo for violin and piano.  I wanted to do something substantial and grandiose, hence the title “Grand Duo, opus 151.”  Both Schubert and Lou Harrison have written works with the same title.  So I thought, why not?


The work is in five movements.


1.    Misterioso …

2.    Andante …

3.    Allegro … Trio!

4.    Largo …

5.    Allegro …




Year composed: 2012
Duration: 00:17:09
Ensemble type: Unknown:unknown 1
Instrumentation: 1 Piano, 1 Violin

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »