Partita for Solo Violin ... for Irina (2011)

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

Program note:


In the spring of 2011 I had nothing to do after I finished composing an all-male a cappella sextet on the Latin text“O Magnum Mysterium.”  And I wasn’t quite ready to begin work on my next project, “Symphony No. 8 … City of Light.”


A year ago Irina Muresanu premiered my “Violin Concerto” (2009) in Jordan Hall with Maestro Max Hobart and the Boston Civic Symphony.  I was thrilled with her performance of the work.   So I thought, how about a set of solo pieces for the violin for her as a token of my appreciation for her artistry?


Anytime one thinks of writing for solo violin, one has to face up to the monumental Partitas and Sonatas for unaccompanied violin by Johann Sebastian Bach.


My Partita, similar to Bach’s in the use of the baroque suite as narrative and structure, is in seven movements.


1.        Fantasia

2.        Allemande

3.        Courante

4.        Sarabande

5.        Gavotte/Minuet

6.        Air

7.        Gigue



Year composed: 2011
Duration: 00:17:00
Ensemble type: Solo instrument, non-keyboard:Violin
Instrumentation: 1 Violin

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »