Multifarious Movements

Lawrence Axelrod

About this work:

This work for two pianos was written for a concert of works in this genre that I gave with my colleague and friend Sebastian Huydts. As the title suggests, each movement has a distinct and very different character. The first movement, marked Brioso, concentrates on angular figures and repeated notes alternating with gentler passages of arpeggios. The second movement is a passacaglia, where one piano plays on the keyboard while the other plays extended techniques inside the instrument. The final movement is a Galop, a fun, non-tonal take on the French dance of the 19th century.

Year composed: 2010
Duration: 12:00:80
Ensemble type: Keyboard:Piano 4 or More Hands
Instrumentation: 2 Piano

Lawrence Axelrod's profile »