Percussion Quartet (2015)

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

Program note:


I met Brian Calhoon when he performed at a Boston Conservatory of Music recital featuring students of marimba godhead, Nancy Zeltsman.  I remember vividly he sang a jazz standard while accompanying himself on the marimba. 

It was a Chet Baker moment I will never forget.


I noticed a year ago that Brian had started a percussion ensemble with some friends called the Boston Percussion Group.  I have always been fascinated with John Cage’s early explorations with percussion instruments: First, Second and Third Constructions; Imaginary Landscape Nos. 1, 2 & 3; etc.  These percussion pieces eventually led to his invention of the prepared piano.


Brian and I got together one day for lunch last fall, and I asked him if he would be interested if I wrote a piece for his group.  He said, Yes!!!


Percussion Quartet is in six movements.


1             Back beat …             Moderato

2             Arioso …             Moderato

3            Funk march …             Moderato

4             Nachtmusik I …             Adagio

5            Fast and furious …             Presto

6            Nachtmusik II …             Moderato



Year composed: 2015
Duration: 00:17:00
Ensemble type: Unknown:unknown 1
Instrumentation: 1 Percussion (General), 1 Marimba, 1 Vibraphone, 1 Drum Set

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »