Clay Touched By God

Joseph Bertolozzi

About this work:
This piece uses the ancient technique of "soggeto cavato" to derive musical material from the letters in the names of the dedicatees. The music was written upon the departure of Rabbi Daniel Polish and Cantor Gail Hirschenfang from Vassar Temple. Performed here by Gail Hirschenfang, soprano, Marka Young, violin, and Joseph Bertolozzi, piano. The text is as follows: Days pass and years vanish as we walk sightless among miracles. Lord, let us see your hand wherever we walk. Then we, clay touched by God will cry “Blessed is the Eternal One, the holy God.” (from the Reformed Jewish Liturgy)
Year composed: 2000
Duration: 00:03:45
Ensemble type: Voice, Solo or With Chamber or Jazz Ensemble:Voice with Chamber/Jazz Ensemble, 2-5 Players
Instrumentation: 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Soprano
Instrumentation notes: Any instrument could substitute for the violin part, but the music exists only in Concert C, not in any transposed "utility" version.

Joseph Bertolozzi's profile »