Bruce Adolphe

About this work:
Commissioned by SummerFest La Jolla for summer 2003, Oceanophony takes a family audience on a journey into the deepest regions of the ocean through music and poetry. Poems by Kate Light, based on the latest scientific explorations and investigations of the creatures and phenomena of the ocean, are rich in imagery and information, as well as good humor and a dose of wisdom. The music, by Bruce Adolphe, conjures up the actions and behaviour of such strange ocean inhabitants as the Sarcastic Fringehead Fish, the Puffer Fish, and the Stoplight Parrot Fish.
Year composed: 2002
Duration: 00:40:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 6-9 players
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Clarinet, 1 Bassoon, 1 Percussion (General), 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Cello, 1 Double bass, 1 Narrator

Bruce Adolphe's profile »