Dances, Opus 8, nos. 1, 2, 3

Judith Cody

About this work:
Program notes:
The Dances move through three contrasting images of dramatic dance interwoven by related rhythm patterns.

No. 1, “Joyful,” is in 6/8 time. The flute behaves in a percussive manner, carries the beat of a primitive dance as the guitar provides a simple, dark backdrop.

No.2, “Ethereal.” is in 9/8 time. A stark and refined movement, it utilizes the high registers of the guitar.

No. 3, “Oriental,” is in 2-5-9/8 time. Each measure has a different meter, while within each 2-5-9 progression the musical complexity multiplies concluding with the third measure of each line.

Version: classical guitar, flute
Year composed: 1977
Duration: 00:05:30
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 2-5 players
Instrumentation: 1 Guitar (Classical/Acoustic)
Instrumentation notes: First movement is a duet with flute and guitar; second and third movements are solo guitar. A dancer should be present for a full presentation.

Judith Cody's profile »