Theme and Variations for Piano, Opus 27

Judith Cody

About this work:
Program notes:
Five passages introduce various moods and textures from playful and minimalist, funereal and staid, graceful and sparse, melancholic and ponderous, to exotic and complex evocative of Charles Ives at certain moments. The work is constructed almost mathematically around two-note chords of one or one-half interval.The first passage (marked allegro) deals with an E-F chord repeated in an ascending and descending dynamic cycle against a counter bass theme.

In passage No.2 (marked largo) the F-note is sharped and the chord is used in a strict Grave rhythm.

In No. 3, the E-F chord shifts to the bass and is almost lost amid a single, animated treble voice. Other two-note chords are introduced in no.4, imparting a heavier, controlled texture while the single voice is moved to the bass again.

No. 5, Coda, inverts the process several times and brings in a new system of timbres where both bass and treble are equally balanced. This last system is marked tranquillo and concludes the piece.

Copyright 2003, Judith Cody, all rights reserved
Version: solo piano
Year composed: 1978
Duration: 00:08:10
Ensemble type: Keyboard:Piano
Instrumentation: 1 Piano

Judith Cody's profile »