Andrey Komanetsky

About this work:

BOBOK is a one act opera in three scenes. The original story was written by Feodor Dostoevsky. Libretto was adapted by the composer from a translation by Gleb Struve. The action takes place in 19th century Russia. The story is about a writer with a serious drinking problem whose genius was not recognized by the general public, and who was fed up with all the pretentious, politically-correct, and insincere behavior of his fellow citizens, who one day wandered into a graveyard and found himself hearing conversations among the dead. From what he overheard he learned that life after death is just as rotten as before death - people are confused and lost morally, and conscience hardly finds its place in their consciousness. Characters are: Writer - Bariton; General Pervoyedov - Bass; Court Councillor Lebezyatnikov - Tenor; Lady Avdotya Ignatyevna - Mezzo-soprano; Shopkeeper - Bass-bariton; Young man - Tenor/Soprano; Privy Councillor Tarasevich - Bass Baron; Klinevich - Tenor; Catiche Berestov (High giggling voice).

To watch:

Year composed: 2001
Duration: 00:38:00
Ensemble type: Opera/Theater:One-Act Operas
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Clarinet, 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Cello

Andrey Komanetsky's profile »