Concerto for Piano and Orchestra #1

Andrey Komanetsky

About this work:
A few years ago, when I was 35, I started visiting neighborhood gym. I guess these days it is just unavoidable. I was fascinated with new atmosphere, sounds of Latin rhythms, tough body builders and elegant women as well as not very elegant ones; I saw heavy weight lifting and moments of relaxation; I saw people stretching and doing aerobics. All these new experiences I tried to convert into music and thus first movement of Concerto for Piano and Orchestra was born. In second movement I expressed my romantically poetic side. Third movement is a collage of energetic dance-like melodic themes. There is also a piano cadenza in the third movement. Movements are: 1. In the Gym 2. Sounds of Poetry 3. Dance Collage
Year composed: 2001
Duration: 00:28:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation: 1 Piccolo, 3 Flute, 2 Oboe, 1 Eb Clarinet, 2 Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, 4 Horn in F, 3 Trumpet, 3 Trombone, 1 Tuba, 1 Timpani, 3 Percussion (General), 1 Marimba, 1 Xylophone, ,1 Piano soloist(s), 30 Violin, 12 Viola, 10 Cello, 6 Double bass
Instrumentation notes: Flute 3=Piccolo, Clarinet 2=Clarinet in Eb. There are 3 percussionists playing Tamburo, Tamburino, Tenor drum, 2 Conga, 2 Bonga, Guiro, 1 Cow bell, 5 Temple blocks, Slap stick, Ratchet, Triangle, 1 mid. size Tin plate, Piatto sos., Piatti, Garn cassa.

Andrey Komanetsky's profile »