Barn Dances

Libby Larsen

About this work:
"Barn Dances" is a set of four abstract pieces for flute, clarinet and piano. Each piece draws its title from the name of a particular dance step used in cowboy dances. Taking the name of the step as the point of departure, my idea was to take a flight of fancy in each movement and to create the musical equivalent of a character drawing. I: Forward Six and Fall Back Eight; II: Divide the Ring; III: Varsouvianna IV: Rattlesnake Twist For more information about this piece, contact: Suzanne L. Ford Performance Promotion Manager Music Department Oxford University Press Tel: 212-726-6109 Fax: 212-726-6441 Email:
Year composed: 2001
Duration: 00:13:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 2-5 players
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Clarinet, 1 Piano

Libby Larsen's profile »