Viola Sonata

Libby Larsen

About this work:
The work is in three movements. I adopted the formality of the sonata much the same way an architect accepts the shell of a building and rehabilitates the interior. This work is about viola and piano, nothing more, nothing less. It seems that when I compose for strings, as in my String Symphony, I focus on the quality of the instrument for its purely communicative power. I: Flow; II: Drift; III: Breathless For more information about this piece, contact: Suzanne L. Ford Performance Promotion Manager Music Department Oxford University Press Tel: 212-726-6109 Fax: 212-726-6441 Email:
Year composed: 2001
Duration: 00:20:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Keyboard plus One Instrument
Instrumentation: 1 Piano, 1 Viola

Libby Larsen's profile »