Eight Tarot Cards For Madam Rubio (1997)

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

Janis Potter & Nancy Zeltsman, marimbas

Program note. Eight Tarot Cards for Madam Rubio! was originally a 22-movement work for two pianos entitled, "The Visconti-Sforza Tarot Cards." I sent a copy of the two-piano version to Nancy Zeltsman who, with Janis Potter, recently created the marimba duo, Madam Rubio. They thought some of the pieces could translate very well as pieces for two marimbas. I have to give complete credit to Nancy's ingenuity and creativity for this version. The transcription, arrangement and order of Eight Tarot Cards for Madam Rubio! are completely hers. [The numbering of the movements may look bizarre, but it is the original Tarot numbering.]

Il Saltimbanco: The Mountebank shuffles his cards and does a samba.

La Torre: The Tower topples and crashes onto the populace gathered below.

La Papessa: The High Priestess concocts a magic potion.

Il Mondo: The World would be a happier place if we all dance together.

La Morte: Death lurks around the corner.

La Ruota della Fortuna Fortunes rise and fall unpredictably.

L'Imperatrice: The Empress dances all night.

Il Sole: Sunshine, margaritas and salsa cubana.

Version: Marimba-duo version by Nancy Zeltsman.
Year composed: 1997
Duration: 00:18:00
Ensemble type: Unspecified Instrument(s):Ensemble
Instrumentation: 2 Marimba
Instrumentation notes: Marimba duo in eight movements.

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »