Durga (The Forest of Brinda)

Michael Robinson

About this work:
The Forest of Brinda (Durga) is the third and highest level of heaven where Krishna resides along with the Gopis.  Shortly after the music begins, an electronic percussion ostinato enters, which was inspired by the electronic music of Joel Chadabe and David Behrman.   This is followed by a melodic figure which is repeated throughout the piece by a wide range of instrumental colors, from finger cymbal to french horn.  The swiftly moving tabla was inspired by Alla Rakha's son, Zakir Hussain.   - Michael Robinson, July 1999, Beverly Hills  © 1999 by Michael Robinson All rights reserved
Year composed: 1998
Duration: 00:12:33
Ensemble type: Electronic Instruments and Sound Sources:Live Electronic Sound Sources
Instrumentation: ,1 Computer/Laptop soloist(s), ,1 Sampler (Keyboard/Other) soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: A computer and sound module are programmed to perform the fully notated score in real time. The Forest of Brinda (Durga) is voiced with samples of the following acoustical timbres using Indian tunings: sitar, tabla, kalimba, finger cymbal, kawala, piri, french horn, rainstick, Javanese, African, Latin American & North American percussion and tanpura.

Michael Robinson's profile »