The Abode of Snow

Michael Robinson

About this work:
The Abode of Snow is the new name for my third string quartet. The version here is scored for glockenspiels which clearly illuminate the individual voices. The original string quartet actually consisted of violin, viola, cello and double bass. The first part of the composition is rather mystical, and moves at a slow tempo. The second part is rhythmic in nature, returning to slower music in it’s middle section, and then concluding with more rhythmic music in the third and concluding section. - Michael Robinson, Lahaina, December 2000 © 2000 Michael Robinson All rights reserved
Year composed: 1982
Duration: 00:59:40
Ensemble type: Electronic Instruments and Sound Sources:Live Electronic Sound Sources
Instrumentation: ,1 Computer/Laptop soloist(s), ,1 Sampler (Keyboard/Other) soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: A computer and sound module are programmed to perform the fully notated composition in real time. The Abode of Snow is voiced with glockenspiel samples using equal temperment tuning.

Michael Robinson's profile »