Concerto For Cello And Orchestra

Andrey Komanetsky

About this work:
In a four movement Concerto for Cello and Orchestra I had tried to showcase every conceivable cello personality known to me. First movement titled “Primo” starts with a traditional orchestral introduction followed by an exploration of the A string of the cello. The first movement is, at times, aggressive but not without a certain lyricism. In the second movement titled “Molto Lirico” the sentimental sound of the cello is introduced. Third movement titled “Molto Ritmico”, written in a fast pace, offers a playful, scherzando like quality. “Improvisation and Aria” ends the concerto with a cello solo part followed by an aria for cello accompanied by slowly moving broken chords in the orchestra.
Year composed: 2003
Duration: 00:28:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation: 2 Flute, 2 Oboe, 2 Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, 2 Horn in F, 2 Trumpet, 2 Trombone, 1 Tuba, 1 Timpani, 3 Percussion (General), 1 Piano, 1 Strings (General), 1 Harp

Andrey Komanetsky's profile »