Trio Con Brio

Joseph Bertolozzi

About this work:
Performed here by the Spring Trio, Meyer Kupferman, clarinet, Bertha Frank, flute, & Margaret Helfer, oboe. Movement titles: I. Trio Con Brio; II. Adagio; III. Sonata Brioso. Meyer Kupferman asked me to write a short piece for a series of concerts he was doing with his wind trio, and I composed the pointillistic first movement titled "Trio Con Brio." Later on he asked me to expand it, and the subsequent movements were added: the beautiful "Adagio," which has since been re-scored for orchestra as "The Soldier's Memorial Fountain," the third movement of my 'Suite Poughkeepsie,' and "Sonata Brioso" which is an arrangement of 'Prelude in G' from "Suite for a Wedding," originally for organ. I was quite sick when writing these pieces, composing them in bed with the aid of a tiny electronic keyboard to check pitches. I was not a student of Meyer's, yet he was still so generous to offer me the opportunity to be associated with him and to have him perform my works (I was still a very young composer, about 22-23). That was typical of his generosity of spirit, and there is no other composer who has been so tangibly encouraging to me, with his invitations to participate in various concerts, and to attend concerts together as audience members, and just talk shop. I miss him.
Year composed: 1983
Duration: 00:08:30
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 2-5 players
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Oboe, 1 Clarinet

Joseph Bertolozzi's profile »