Woodwind Quartet #1: The Birds

Jenece C. Gerber

About this work:
5 movements for ensemble consisting of flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon. Each movement is based on a line of text from William Blake's "Augueries of Innocence" that portrays birds in different scenarios. I. A Dove House Fill'd with Doves and Pigeons, II. The Game Cock Clipp'd and Arm'd for Fight, III. Robin Red Breast in a Cage, IV. The Little Wren, V. The Bat That Flits at Close of Eve'. Movements range from playful to mournful to wild. This piece works well with a tight ensemble, as there is much dialogue between instruments/hocket.
Year composed: 2004
Duration: 00:09:30
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Unknown
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Oboe, 1 Clarinet, 1 Bassoon

Jenece C. Gerber's profile »