Chen Yi

About this work:
The Ancient Chinese Beauty has three movements: I. The Clay Figurines; II. The Ancient Totems; and III. The Dancing Ink. The work is a musical realization of my impression on the ancient Chinese art: the clay figurines of the Han dynasty (206 B.C. — 220 A.D.), the ancient totems dated thousands of years, and the cursive of the Tang dynasty (618 — 907), for solo recorders and string orchestra. It’s commissioned and premiered by the prominent recorder soloist Ms. Michala Petri with Beijing Philharmonic conducted by Shen Hao in Beijing on April 4, 2008, to celebrate the anniversary of the longest non-interrupted relation between the two countries, Denmark and China. The European premiere is given at the Sigulda Festival with Kremarata Baltica in Latvia on June 28, 2008, again at Michala Petri’s 50th birthday concert at Tivoli Concert Hall in Copenhagen, Denmark on July 7, 2008, with Danish Radio broadcast in 2008-2009.
Version: Recorder soloist and string orchestra
Year composed: 2008
Duration: 00:15:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:String Orchestra with Soloist(s)
Instrumentation notes: Recorders (one soloist) and string orchestra

Chen Yi's profile »