SYMPHONY HUMEN 1839 (co-composed with Zhou Long)

Chen Yi

About this work:
A four movement symphonic work for full orchestra (1st mvt: Andante brioso, 2nd mvt: Allegro intenso, 3rd mvt: Lento tragico, 4th mvt: Allegro spiritoso), commissioned by the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, to commemorate the 170th anniversary of the Destroying Opium Campaign in Humen, Guangdong in 1839. This four-movement symphony is dedicated to this event of great significance that happened in Humen, Guangdong. First performed on September 13, 2009 at Xinghai Concert Hall in Guangzhou, China, conducted by Yu Long.
Year composed: 2009
Duration: 00:29:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Standard Orchestra

Chen Yi's profile »