Tokuno Toccata (2010) for solo piano

Thomas Oboe Lee

About this work:

I met Mana Tokuno last spring at a concert in Montpelier, Vermont.

The Montpelier Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Victor Rosenbaum, did the Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3 with Mana as soloist. My work, “Seven Steps To Heaven,” for string orchestra was also on the program. After the concert we all went to a local restaurant for a bite to eat, and Mana asked me if I would be interested in writing her a piano piece. I said, “Sure!!!”

For years I have been a fan of Glenn Gould’s recordings of the music by J.S. Bach. I am also a fan of the keyboard sonatas of Bach’s son, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.

To prepare myself for this work for Mana, I delved into the scores and recordings of these two awe-inspiring musicians/composers, in particular the Toccatas and Partitas of J.S. Bach.

I wrote the entire work during a three-week stay at the American Academy in Rome, 2009-10.

Tokuno Toccata is in five sections.

1) Prelude … Fantasia!!!

2) Adagio … molto cantabile!

3) Allegro molto …

4) Largo … molto cantabile!!!

5) Allegro … Fuga a tre voci.

Year composed: 2010
Duration: 00:10:45
Ensemble type: Keyboard:Piano
Instrumentation: 1 Piano

Thomas Oboe Lee's profile »