Chen Yi

About this work:

Scored for piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 French horns, 3 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, 5 timpani, 3 percussionists, and strings. MOUNT A LONG WIND For Orchestra is commissioned by the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, China, to celebrate its 70th anniversary, premiered by the China Youth Symphony, conducted by Yongyan Hu, at the China National Center for the Performing Arts on 11/1/2010 in Beijing, China. The American premiere is given by Columbia Orchestra, conducted by Jason Love, at Jim Rouse Theatre on 6/1/2013 in Columbia, Maryland. "I will mount a long wind some day and break the heavy waves, And set my cloudy sail straight and bridge the deep, deep sea." Inspired by the meaningful line from the famous ancient Chinese poet Li Bai [Tang Dynasty], I composed my orchestral work Mount a Long Wind to honor my Alma Mater, the Central Conservatory of Music, and to pay respect to all of my professors, colleagues and students for their vision and hard work. We wish to overcome all hardship and continue to make good progress towards a bright future. The first four pitches emerging from a quiet deep, deep sea form the motive of the piece (F, C, G, A), which is followed by its variations again and again, until the music is built up to the climax (Letter E), where the shape of the motive is inverted (F, B-flat, E-flat, D-flat and B, E, A, G). The pitch material of the inverted form came from a popular Chinese instrumental folk tune “Old Eight Beats”. The Coda (Letter F) combines both forms and ends determinately. I hope my musicians and audience can enjoy the beauty of the atmosphere in the beginning of the piece, and the ever-growing energy when the music is unfolded, to feel the encouraging spirit.

Version: Orchestra
Year composed: 2010
Duration: 00:06:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra

Chen Yi's profile »