Bridge Music

Joseph Bertolozzi

About this work:
Joseph Bertolozzi's Bridge Music is a site-specific sound art installation created for the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Bridge (The Mid-Hudson Bridge), a suspension bridge spanning the Hudson River at Poughkeepsie, New York. The installation consists of two components: [1] audio speakers mounted at two Listening Stations on the bridge's towers that play Bertolozzi's original music on-demand at the touch of a button (open from April 1 through October 31), and [2] an FM stereo transmission 24 hours a day on 95.3FM within the parks surrounding the bridge. The music was written using no other sounds than those of the bridge itself. As played on a suspension bridge, Bridge Music is scored for twenty four percussionists. This arrangement for percussion quartet was created at the suggestion of Garry Kvistad for the percussion ensemble NEXUS. Photos, videos and other materials related to Bridge Music are available on the "Bridge Music" menu at .
Version: Percussion Quartet Arrangement
Year composed: 2011
Duration: 00:38:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Percussion Ensembles

Joseph Bertolozzi's profile »