Chen Yi

About this work:

Northern Scenes for solo piano (2013) by Chen Yi: My piano solo work Northern Scenes is composed for and dedicated to Prof. Susan Chan, and premiered in 2013. The commission was made possible by Ms. May Lui, Mr. John Schumann, the Portland State University Foundation, the Regional Arts & Culture Council, and Oregon Arts Commission.The piece is imaginative and expressive, with passionate and lyrical layers, in vertical soundscapes and space. The following lines of words show the images that inspired me to compose the music: "In the north, the vast and magnificent blue mountains, Boundless, desolate, and indistinct..." The duration of the piece is about 8 minutes.

Version: Solo PIano
Year composed: 2013
Duration: 00:08:00
Ensemble type: Keyboard

Chen Yi's profile »