Chen Yi

About this work:

Chen Yi

Fire - For 12 players (2019) [6:20]

Fire was commissioned by the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition directed by Prof. Augusta Read Thomas at the University of Chicago for the Grossman Ensemble. It’s dedicated to and premiered by the Grossman Ensemble on March 15, 2019 at the Logan Center Performance Hall, Chicago, IL.

Fire is written for flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, French horn in F, 2 percussion (I. snare drum and suspended cymbal; II. bass drum), harp, piano, 2 violins, viola and cello. The music reflects the fire in nature, as well as in tension and emotion.

The 12 musicians in the Grossman Ensemble are: Tim Munro (flute), Ben Melsky (harp), Andrew Nogal (oboe), Daniel Pesca (piano), Katie Schoepflin (clarinet), Matthew Oliphant (horn), Greg Beyer (percussion), John Corkill (percussion), and the Spektral Quartet (Clara Lyon and Maeve Feinberg, violins, Doyle Armbrust, viola, and Russell Rolen, cello).

Version: For 12 Players
Year composed: 2019
Duration: 00:06:20
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 10+ players
Instrumentation notes: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, P(2), Hp, Pn, Vn(2), Va, Vc

Chen Yi's profile »