Chen Yi

About this work:

Chen Yi: Jingu Suite for cello solo (2018)

My cello solo work Jingu Suite is commissioned and written for my cellist friend, Prof. Siwen Wang of the Tianjin Conservatory where I have been a visiting professor for 5 years since 2012. The beautiful scenes in the Ning Garden and the Haihe River, as well as the lively and colorful folk culture in Tianjin have made such significant impression on me that I wanted to express my deep appreciation to my friends in Tianjin through this work. Our friendship will be in my heart forever. There are four movements in the cello solo work, Jingu Suite: 1. The Ning Garden; 2. The Stilt-walking; 3. Dance with Flying Cymbals; 4. The Haihe River. The total during is about 12 minutes.

Version: For Solo Cello
Year composed: 2018
Duration: 00:12:00
Ensemble type: Solo instrument, non-keyboard:Cello
Instrumentation notes: Intermediate level of difficulty

Chen Yi's profile »