Four Haiku Stetches

Roger M. Aldridge

About this work:

Four Haiku Sketches for concert band and speaker was composed in 1969 while I was in the Air Force. The score was sent to Source: Music of the Avant-Garde, based at Univ of Calif at Davis, and added to their collection. No more was heard about this piece and over time I forgot about it.

Earlier this year (2021) I wrote a blog about my earlier music and this piece came to mind. Being curious, I did a Google search and discovered that the Source collection, including my score, is now in the University of North Texas music library. I contacted the library and they graciously sent me a photocopy.

The score is concert pitch, handwritten, and 20 pages. The instrumentation is for a large band: Speaker, piccolo, 2 flutes, oboe, English horn, bassoon, 3 clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 alto saxes, tenor sax, baritone sax,  3 trumpets, 4 French horns, 3 trombones (1 bass), baritone horn, tuba, string bass, vibes, chimes, and 2 percussion.  

Year composed: 1969
Duration: 00:00:00
Ensemble type: Band:Concert band

Roger M. Aldridge's profile »