Sinfonia da camera

Allen Brings

About this work:
Sinfonia da camera is one of several works for large chamber ensembles composed since 1974. Like Schoenberg, who acknowledged a greater debt to Mozart, my greater debt in composing the Sinfonia is to Haydn despite the modernity of its harmonic language, especially in its linear clarity and phrase structure. More obvious an influence perhaps is the four movement format, which includes a scherzo and a slow introduction to the last movement. The principles of sonata-allegro form may still be detected in the outer movements, and references to earlier passages may be heard as the work quietly concludes. Score and parts available from Mira Music Associates. Contact:
Version: chamber orchestra
Year composed: 1990
Duration: 00:21:00
Ensemble type: Orchestra:Chamber Orchestra
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Oboe, 1 Clarinet, 1 Bassoon, 1 Horn in F, 1 Trumpet, 1 Trombone, 1 Timpani, 1 Percussion (General), 2 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello, 1 Double bass
Instrumentation notes: Strings may be doubled if necessary.
Purchase materials:

Allen Brings's profile »