Glancing below : a ballet

Joelle Wallach

About this work:

A haunting and lyrical one-movement chamber work for eight players, Glancing Below was originally commissioned by the Carlisle Project as a ballet score.

Glancing Below was premiered in Philadelphia’s Drake Theater in August, 1994.  By the following winter, it had entered the repertory of the Hartford Ballet, which gave the work its New York City premiere in June, 1995 at Hunter College’s Danny Kaye Playhouse under the auspices of the Guild of Musicians for Dance.  Showcased by the Juilliard Dance Theater in 199, Glancing Below continues to be performed as a ballet as well as being heard as a profoundly evocative instrumental octet.

Year composed: 1994
Duration: 00:13:30
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Other Combinations, 6-9 players
Instrumentation: 1 Baritone Saxophone, 1 Percussion (General), 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello, 1 Double bass
Instrumentation notes: bar sax (sop sax, sopranino sax), perc, pno, vln, vla, vc, db

Joelle Wallach's profile »