Mourning madrigals

Joelle Wallach

About this work:

Joelle Wallach’s Mourning Madrigals was composed in the fall of 1980 in the aftermath of the composer’s father's sudden death.  The music traces mourning's private, tortuous passage through grief from acquiescence to acceptance.  The three movement work is based on poems Thomas Hardy wrote in 1912-13 following the death of his wife and on a Gregorian Requiem chant which generates the piece's pitch organization. 

Mourning Madrigals

English Text by Thomas Hardy; Latin from the Requiem Mass


Year composed: 1981
Duration: 00:14:00
Ensemble type: Voice, Solo or With Chamber or Jazz Ensemble:Two or More Solo Voices with Chamber/Jazz Ensemble, 2-5 players
Instrumentation: 1 Flute, 1 Harp, 1 Soprano, 1 Tenor
Instrumentation notes: S, T, fl, hrp

Joelle Wallach's profile »