Quartet No. 4

Harry Boyd

About this work:
The first movement is cheerful and quick-moving, though not technically demanding, with strong melodies and rapid changes from pizzicato to arco. The second movement, subtitled "Moonscape", is distantly beautiful and quiet, with contrapuntal harmonies. The slow rhythms make it somewhat more difficult to control in performance. The third movement moves along quickly with mixed staccato and slurred melodies. The fourth movement, subtitled "Scottish Dance", is strongly rhythmic and melodic, with a middle section recalling bagpipe tunes. Part-scores can be obtained from my web site (www.prestoscores.com).
Version: String Quartet
Year composed: 2001
Duration: 00:00:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:String Quartet
Instrumentation: 2 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello

Harry Boyd's profile »