Quartet for saxophones

Joelle Wallach

About this work:

Joelle Wallach's two movement Quartet for Saxophones is a study in the parallel roles saxophones have played in the jazz and classical traditions.  The first movement can be heard as a formal passacaglia or a murky blues.  The contrasting second movement is a fugue with a jagged, jazzy subject.  The piece was written in 1980 in New York City and revised there as well, seventeen years later, in 1997.

Year composed: 1980
Duration: 00:11:00
Ensemble type: Chamber or Jazz Ensemble, Without Voice:Saxophone Quartet
Instrumentation: 1 Soprano Saxophone, 1 Alto Saxophone, 1 Tenor Saxophone, 1 Baritone Saxophone
Instrumentation notes: 4 sax

Joelle Wallach's profile »