Let There Be Joy

Roger Ames

About this work:
A setting of Laura Harrington's poem: "Let There Be Joy" in 3 movements: 1. The Soul in Flight; 2. Take Joy; 3. Let the Evening Sing. Premiered by the Minnesota Oratorio Society, Matthew Mehaffey, conductor. The text explores loss of a loved one, recovery and gratitude, and the need for the cycle of renewal when tragedy strikes. The music is tonal, contrapuntal, and harmonically modal, with overlapping, minimalist sequences followed by contrasting highly expressive melodic sections. Some 7/8 and 5/8 rhythmic sections. Medium difficulty.
Version: chorus, harp and cello
Year composed: 2008
Duration: 00:12:30
Ensemble type: Chorus, with or without Solo Voices:Chorus with Chamber Ensemble
Instrumentation: 1 Cello, 1 Harp
Instrumentation notes: Optional piano with cello
Purchase materials: rogerwames@yahoo.com

Roger Ames's profile »